Bangkok, Here I Come!

Tomorrow I take flight.  Missoula -> Seattle -> Los Angeles -> Seoul -> Bangkok.  My hotel is booked.  My ride from the airport is arranged. After five nights in Bangkok, I will leave the city to travel with a Thai family for the first few weeks. I have no idea where we’re going or what we’ll see but I’m as excited as I’ve ever been. I am blessed and grateful that everything has fallen into place. After a bit of sightseeing, I will head north to Chiang Mai where I plan to enroll myself in an intensive Thai language course before I start volunteering. I hope to begin my placement in early February.

These last few weeks have been a roller coaster.  I am no longer employed which is both fantastic and terrifying. Resigning from my job of four years was bittersweet. There are many things I will miss and many more I will not. It was a good place to be for four years and I leave with a fistful of legal knowledge, a retirement fund and some good friends. There have been many goodbyes, several celebrations, loads of laughs and many tears.  I’m overwhelmed with gratitude for the encouragement, support and enthusiasm I have received from the people around me, both in my personal life and from my colleagues. I truly have the best friends a girl could ask for.  I am equally delighted and humbled. I will miss everyone so incredibly.  Especially when the days get tough and nothing seems familiar.

My next post will be from Southeast Asia where nothing about my life will be the same as it is in this moment. I welcome the challenge and the change. And I look forward to working with organizations dedicated to eradicating exploitation. This is something I’ve wanted to do for many years. Now, I’m one step closer. A big thank you to everyone who has helped me along the way. I couldn’t’ve done it without  you.

“Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms. As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.”  ~Audrey Hepburn

3 thoughts on “Bangkok, Here I Come!

  1. She has an abiding resilience and resolve to never hold back, never stand back, never look back. She reaches great heights. She shines as she soars.
    Jeannine Roberts Royce from A Fearless Woman.

    Girl, I so so excited and thrilled for you in profoundly womonfesting your dreams with conviction, resolve and triple Capricorn.
    This IS the time of your life, your spirit, your soul…may Divine keep you safe, keep you laughing and keep you curious. XOXOOOXXX

  2. Dearest Noel:

    I am so pleased to see your blog going so well. I have to say though… you said Bangkok (tehehehee). Regardless, the language course will be amazing. I hope you start finding projects soon. 😀

    Namaste,

    Bons

Leave a Reply

