A Series of Unfortunate Events

What a difference a day makes, na?  Yesterday, I had a job teaching English at a  private school (which I pretty much hated) as well as a volunteer placement for 12 months at DEPDC/GMS through Volunteers in Asia.  Now, it’s all off the table.  After the school principal threatened to cut my misbehaved student’s penis off with a box cutter, I had to seriously rethink the position.  And yes, the box cutter blade was held up to the student’s crotch, mortifying him and me while the Thai staff and principal laughed at him.  I guess discipline in Thailand is either nothing at all or extreme humiliation.  He’s 8-years-old for crissakes and I’m pretty sure she told him that’s how we do it in America.  Yikes.  The next day, the principal cut my hours from 14 per week to 5.  Hmmm.  Get paid shitty money; threaten my students with physical violence; cut my hours as if I was the one in the wrong.  For me, this all adds up to a big, “I’m outta here.”  So I quit.  Good fucking riddance.

Then Volunteers in Asia dropped a bomb stating that they have decided not to place a volunteer in northern Thailand due to budget shortfalls.  Prior to this blind-side, I was approved, granted a scholarship and told all systems were a-go.  I was preparing to commit to another year in Southeast Asia on the ground in human trafficking prevention.  I guess it was too good to be true.  There goes a year contract, a guaranteed visa, a monthly stipend, health insurance and a return flight. I spent the morning in Burma at a Shan wedding drinking my sorrow in whiskey and dancing to Akon.

So I’m back to the drawing board.  Don’t want to leave.  Seems impossible to stay.

2 thoughts on “A Series of Unfortunate Events

  1. Honey, I’m so sorry to hear that they took a 360 turn on all this. Maybe its time you took a break. come home and regroup and get rested up. Is there some other reason they all took it off the table? You could come with me up to Canada or you could rest and hang out at my house. I have been watching movies on Netflix, cleaning fleece, crocheting, meeting with my spinning friends and visiting different animal farms. The computer is acting weird. All my love and support. Mom

  2. I think you should get a reverse green card marriage. Surely, there must be a lonely bachelor in all of Thailand. Hell, there must be a lonely lady boy looking for a non-reciprocal marriage in order to placate her parents! Become a trophy wife and stay in Thailand forever!

Leave a Reply

