BKK -> ICN -> MSO

Leaving Thailand has been incredibly difficult.  My last few days were spent with the people who have captured my heart and become my family.  I am so blessed to have such wonderful people in my life on both sides of the globe.  In so many ways, Thailand is my home now and it feels counter-intuitive to leave.  I never imagined this international volunteer experience would change my trajectory so dramatically, although I secretly hoped it would.  I never imagined I’d be offered a paid position at DEPDC/GMS.  I also never imagined an offer from Volunteers in Asia (VIA) which would give me the security I need to make it work.  I never imagined I would return to the U.S. to sell the rest of my possessions so I can commit to another year in human trafficking prevention in the border region of northern Thailand/Burma.  The work means that much to me.  The doors are wide open and I’m going to do everything in my power to walk through them.  I cannot bypass this opportunity. I really need  several things to fall into place in the next three weeks so I can return for my 12 month contract which commences August 1st.  Fingers crossed. 

Leave a Reply

