Weekend Report

It’s mid-October and the world is alive and pulsing.  The Arab Spring continues on in its bloody uprising with numerous countries standing firm in civil resistance.  All eyes are on Syria as it currently teeters on the brink of civil war.  Inspired by the Arab revolutions comes Occupy Wall Street which is sweeping the United States and going strong for five weeks now. Call it an uprising against the plutocracy, Occupy Earth is standing firm against economic inequality. Occupy Earth is taking it one step further by going global. Has the revolution finally arrived? It is a breath of fresh air to see America come out of its complacency and join in the protests and demonstrations that seem to be all the norm around the world these days.  How I wish I was home for this! Perhaps the machine is breaking down. Perhaps we will break it down.  According to United for Global Change, the Occupy Movement has spread to 1,039 events in 87 countries!  What an exciting time to be alive! Let’s just try to keep it peaceful people!

And that’s not all that’s going on.  The Horn of Africa is seeing the worst humanitarian crisis ever due to extreme drought, famine and human displacement.  Thailand is seeing the most severe monsoon season in five decades with the majority of the country under water  (we’re okay up here in the north so far) and 2012 is only 73 days away!  We’re seeing the power of social media as the information age keeps us connected through these turbulent and exciting times.  The question begs to be asked: Where are we headed?  Are we on the brink of a global meltdown or a human awakening?  I’m vying for the latter.

On a more personal note, my mother is visiting for the month of October.  We haven’t had much time together as she has been based in Chiang Mai, City of Charm, while I bust ass working on a gnarly grant cycle which has kept me up until 4 a.m. more times than I care to count.  She will arrive in Mae Sai this afternoon and I am looking forward to a familiar face.  In two days, we will venture into Burma to help a handful of citizens in the small ways we can. We will bring in medical supplies and educational materials and plan to visit an orphanage, school and hill tribe community.  For the four days we will be in Burma, we will be without Internet access, ATMs, appropriate medical facilities and cell phones.  The Burmese government will monitor our movement and we will do our best not to start an uprising.  Should be an adventure!  If you want to learn more about it, check Operation Going In.

This month has brought a lot of exciting weekend travel as I continue to explore this region I call home.  While motorbiking is the preferred method of exploration for me, I have recently taken a long tail boat up the Mekong River and I have to say, wow!  Small fishing markets and bamboo villages dotting the shores of Laos and Thailand while one winds through the surrounding mountains via Southeast Asia’s main waterway, well, it doesn’t get much better than that.  This month has brought me to Chiang Mai, Lampang, Chiang Rai, Chiang Saen, the Golden Triangle, and Chiang Khong.  I must admit the nomadic life suits me and I always get a little restless when in one place for too long. But it’s nice to have a home base too.  And so it is.  T minus 48 hours for Burma.  The adventure continues…

2 thoughts on “Weekend Report

  1. I can’t wait to learn about your adventures in KT! It’s going to be amazing and you are wise in getting more prepared in knowing what to bring than we did back in May! More power to you! and do say hi to the sister if you are going to the orphanage!

    Haha. I can’t help but put on a knowing smile when I read of that “gnarly grant cycle”… keep the coffee maker plugged in, is all i am saying. You are a brave and amazing woman making a difference in those around you – so proud to call you friend! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much, Dr. Yee! I have to say things are much more challenging around here than they used to be, but I will do what I can. Handling the work of three people is not my idea of sustainabilitity and there are not enough hours in the day to manage it all, but what can I do? Hope for the best, prepare for the worst! My experience in KT was incredible and disheartening and I’m still processing it mentally and emotionally. Hopefully a blog post will appear soon as the hours allow for it. I appreciate your kind words of support and encouragement and I am also proud to call you friend! How I wish your successor would arrive…

Leave a Reply

