Slow & Low

In search of a slower pace of life and a lower cost of living, I’m constantly comparing and contrasting countries around the world where the livin’ has a good cost to benefit ratio. Southeast Asia reigns supreme for both slow and low and there’s no question that’s why I stayed in the region for as long as I did. But the world is a big, beautiful place and I like to explore new countries given the opportunity. I delight in the newness of a place, unfamiliarity and learning everything I possibly can. I don’t expect perfection anywhere and every place has its pros and cons.

There are several factors I consider: Is the climate warm? Is it fairly safe for my family? Is there access to decent medical care? And last, but certainly not least, where does the country rank on the Corruption Perception Index? Essentially, where can get the most bang for my buck?  There are oodles of listicles online about which place is the “cheapest,” “friendliest,” “happiest,” “hottest destination for [insert current year],” et cetera.  I stumbled across this infographic on MoveHub, which was created by the Consumer Price Index, and just had to share it. The CPI determined the differences in cost of living between countries taking into account the prices of groceries, transportation, restaurants and utilities. The infographic is a relative indicator of a country’s living costs compared to New  York.  For example, if a country has a CPI of 70, on average it enjoys a 30% cheaper living cost compared to New York. Fascinating, no?

Living Costs World Map

Leave a Reply

